Medical Students Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone. I joined this forum a few days ago and I read thru most of all relevant threads. Some threads are upto 16 pages (i.e. MEDICAL COLLEGES IN PAKISTAN...still going thru that one...).

I live in the States and I graduated from High School in May 2000. There I had a gpa of 3.25 and did pretty good in Biology, Chemistry, Physics, and English. I also took 2 AP exams: Economics and US Government, got a 3 and 2 respectively. I misplaced my diploma certificate (not that many places here actually ask for that) but I can get the transcripts from the school.

Since then I held alot of jobs so that I would pay my way thru college. I got into a pretty good University, went there for a few years... but didnt do so well since I was in another city and paid my way thru college (even after grants and loans). I got about 40 credits or so from there, but a very low gpa. I dropped out of the university and moved back with my parents and am currently holding a job there (was planning to go back to a univ; they have a pretty decent tuition reimbursement program).

A friend of mine (American born etc) went to Pakistan after completing high school here and got accepted into Sindh Medical School. He lives with is grandmother there, he only pays around 200 US dollars a year.

I am really looking into getting into Dow Medical School.

Basically my questions are this:

1. Since I am currently 24, will turn 25 in July, will that be an issue?

2. If I do not submit my college stuff, then It will be like I didnt do anything since 2000 - 2007. Except for the jobs I held (have a resume). Is this still going to be OK for DMC?

3. Is my High School credit good enough for getting into Dow? or do i need to use my university stuff as well?

4. How can one get in to a medical school there in the "foreigner" quota, yet pay the local tuition rate? He kept this information to himself.