Medical Students Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, gonna try to keep this short and sweet. I reside in the US, I'm in my final year of high school, and I'm planning to apply to several medical schools in the Islamabad/Rawalpindi area of Pakistan (specifically Shifa, Fazaia/Air, Army, etc) once I finish high school. Since the College Board has stopped administering the SAT subject tests, I need to take the MDCAT instead. The thing is, it seems like there's a pretty big lack of MDCAT info/prep, and the same with the entrance tests for these med schools. I know academies like KIPS/STAR/STEP help prepare you for the MDCAT, but I don't exactly know how reliable they are, or how well they prepare you for the MDCAT. Is there any other foreign student here who's also applying to a Pakistani med school that's going through the same experience and stress I'm facing? Thanks.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hi there. I went through the same stress with the MDCAT last year. I decided to go through the self study route with help from some youtube channels that taught the pakistani boards curriculum. From my knowledge, an academy provides you with the right resources like practice question books, and overall guides you on what to study, etc. But, i’m not sure how good the lectures are ( so: I ended up buying the KIPS academy practice books from bookstores in pakistan and used those for my practice instead).

Some advice for the MDCAT from my experience, I did Alevels and having that knowledge was helpful in passing the exam. However, I do suggest getting your hands on the textbooks they use for the pakistani curriculum because having gone through their books I found the MDCAT to be overall easier ( I got some great information regarding the books and more from @nimrahwrites on instagram, so do check her out! ) Personally- I used the punjab textbooks for biology and physics and federal textbooks for chemistry.