Medical Students Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm sending this email from the other side b/c I'm not sure how to start this process. I'm US born, with parents from Pakistan. I'm a third-year female medical student (7th year MD/PhD student) at the Univ of Pittsburgh. I speak Pushto fluently in addtion to English, but I'm not really fluent in Urdu (I can understand most of it but not speak much, since my parents don't speak it). Anyway, I will be graduating from Pitt in May 2008, and I was wondering about how to do a 4-wk away elective rotation in Pakistan, probably one year from now (April 2008)?

I don't even know where to start looking. Are there any reliable websites or links on this? I found some websites that look very outdated. My interest is in Pediatrics subsp, maybe GI or Heme/Onc. I would really like to find a Children's Hospital in Pakistan, possibly associated with a medical school. Any ideas/suggestions/help? Will not being fluent in Urdu be a problem? If it is, then my only options will be in Peshawar/NWFP Pakistan. I'm hoping to expand my options. Please send helpful suggestions or places to contact, because I'm totally lost about how to begin to find legitimate teaching institutions that my med school will approve of. There are many students who go to India every year, but none to Pakistan #sad

Thank you for your help! #happy

·
Premium Member
879 Posts
Hi there mdphd2b,

You could try Shifa International Hospital in Islamabad -- you would have to apply through Shifa College of Medicine but they do have a formal procedure and there have been quite a few students that have rotated through before from the US and UK. I recall someone being here from Henry Ford last year rotating in neurosurgery...