Medical Students Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thankyou. Your link was very useful and inspirational too! Presently, I am studying in final MBBS in India. I would like to ask you a few questions. I have a greencard and I am planning to do clinicial electives for about 6 months in the USA.

I have visited websites of a few med schools in NY, but all of them want me to have malpractice insurance. I contacted a few insurance companies but they don't give malpractice insurance to students. I am not aware of how much it would cost to purchase malpractice insurance.

Since you have done electives in the John Hopkins, you might have undergone all of these formalities. Can you guide me more about it?

Also, does doing an elective in a med school improve my chances of getting into residency in that school?

Is the clinical elective experience considered as US Clinical experience?

Also, I want to know that while doing electives, is it possible to get time to read for the USMLE steps?

·
Premium Member
1,827 Posts
Ashish,

I can answer a few of your questions, but as for the malpractice insurance, I'm a little unsure for now. Hopefully someone else will be able to get back to you soon.

Doing an elective in a med school does not necessarily improve your chances of getting a residency at that school. Some electives are widely available to all students, and simply require that you pay your way into them. As such, it is hard to stand apart from the rest of the crowd when the same elective option has already been, and will continue to be exercised by many other students.