Medical Students Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am a pre-medical student in Pakistan. I have completed 12th grade (Fsc) and seeking admission in School of Dentistry to become a Dentist (BDS), in USA. Can anyone please guide me how can I get admission in any Dentist School/college in US? I have following Questions:

1. Do they accept students after 12th grade (FSc) ?
2. Do I need to do SAT or TOEFL or any such thing?
3. What pre qualifications do I need to become eligible to apply in a US dentist school?
4. Do I need to undergo any studies in a US school to meet the criteria?
5. What procedure I must ensure to get admission?

As you can see, i have no idea of US schooling system. I will appreciate and be obliged if someone can explain me the entire process of admissions and requirements, for "a coming from Pakistan student". Thanks A lot.

·
Registered
172 Posts
Hello,

You need to get a bachelor's degree before applying to US dental schools because the education system is different over there. So, you're looking at three or four years, and a dental admission test before starting dental school in USA. If you are still interested, you will need to apply to a BS program first (pre-dental track). As for your questions,

1. Yes, they do in bachelor programs. But your grades are to be converted to US high school GPA on a scale of 4.00. The institution's admission officer will either evaluate your credentials internally or ask you to do so through an external credential evaluator (WES and ECE mostly).

2. SAT and TOEFL/IELTS are both mandatory, however SAT requirements vary for International students, and sometimes it is exempt too. It depends on the university you choose.